I.C.A.R. 57. Time Standards For Case Processing

Idaho Cout Administrative Rule 57. Time Standards For Case Processing.

(a) The following time standards are adopted as guidelines for judges, trial court administrators, lawyers, and litigants to assist them in determining the length of time it should take to conclude a case in the trial courts:

CIVIL

District Court 540 days from complaint Magistrate Court 180 days from complaint

FELONIES

Magistrate Division 30 days from first appearance to order holding the

defendant to answer in the district court or discharging the defendant

District Court 150 days from first appearance in district court

MISDEMEANORS 90 days from first appearance

INFRACTIONS 60 days from first appearance

DOMESTIC RELATIONS AND CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT

180 days from complaint

JUVENILE

Juvenile Corrections Act cases 90 days from admit/deny hearing

Powered by **Drupal**

Chld Protection Act cases

As provided in the time frames established in the Idaho Juvenile Rules

SMALL CLAIMS

90 days from complaint

- (b) In each of the categories of cases in subsection (a), the median length of time taken to resolve all cases should not exceed the time standard prescribed for that category. Trial judges should strive to resolve each individual case within the applicable time standard unless the trial judge determines that exceptional circumstances exist.
- (c) No action shall be dismissed for failure to meet these time standards guidelines.

(Adopted August 8, 2008, effective August 8, 2008.)

Source URL: https://isc.idaho.gov/icar57