Main menu(Site Main Menu)

Idaho Infraction Rule 9. Judgment - Fixed Penalty Plus Court Costs for Infractions - Withheld Judgment and Suspended Penalties Prohibited - Deferred Payment Agreements.

(a) Entry of Judgment. Upon, (1) the entry of an admission to an infraction citation or complaint in person or by mail under Rule 6(a) or, (2) the payment of the total amount, which includes fixed penalty and court costs, by the defendant, or, (3) a finding by the court upon trial that the defendant committed the infraction offense, or, (4) a failure of the defendant to appear in court or before the clerk as provided in Rule 8, the court shall enter judgment against the defendant for the infraction which shall order the defendant to pay the fixed penalty and court costs provided in this rule.

 

(b) Fixed Penalty and Costs for Infraction. The entry of a judgment for an infraction under this rule shall order the defendant to pay a dollar amount for a fixed penalty and court costs in the following amounts:

  

INFRACTION OFFENSE      TOTAL AMOUNT

(Fixed Penalty Plus Court Costs)

 

(1)(a)Failure to fasten safety restraint, operator/occupant age 18 or older, Section 49-673(3), Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $10.00, $5.00 of which is to be sent to Stateís Catastrophic Health Care Fund).          

 

$10.00 

 

(b) Failure to fasten safety restraint, operator 18 years or older with occupant(s) under 18 years of age failing to wear safety restraint. Section 49-673(3), Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $10.00, $5.00 of which is to be sent to State's Catastrophic Health Care Fund).

 

$10.00

 

(c) Failure to fasten safety restraint, operator under 18 years of age or operator under 18 who has occupant(s) under 18 years of age failing to wear safety restraint-single citation only, Section 49-673(4), Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $10.00, $5.00 of which is to be sent to Stateís Catastrophic Health Care Fund, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$66.50

 

(2)  Failure to restrain child in car safety seat. Section 49-672, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $27.50, court costs $16.50, I.C., § 31-3201A(c), county justice fund fee $5.00 I.C. § 31-3201(3), and, peace officers training fee $15.00 I.C. § 31-3201B, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00 I.C. § 31-3201(5), and emergency surcharge fee $10.00). 

 

$84.00 

 

(3)  Pedestrian and bicycle infractions. (Fixed penalty $5.00, court costs $16.50 county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00)

 

$61.50 

 

(4)  Speeding traffic infractions.

(a) 1 to 15 miles per hour above speed Limit.  (Fixed penalty $33.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00). 

 

$90.00 

 

(b) 16 or more miles per hour above speed limit. (Fixed penalty $98.50, court costs $16.50, county justice  fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$155.00 

 

(5)  Other moving traffic infractions. (Fixed penalty $33.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$90.00 

 

(6)  Speeding in a construction zone. I.C. § 49-657 (Fixed penalty $50.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$106.50 

 

(7)  Speeding in a school zone. I.C. § 49-658 (Fixed penalty $100.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$156.50

 

(8)  Permitting unauthorized child under age 18 to operate vehicle. Section 49-333(1), Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $54.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$111.00 

 

(9) Permitting any unauthorized person to operate vehicle. Section  49-333(2), Idaho Code.  (Fixed penalty $54.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).      

 

$111.00

 

(10) Renting vehicle to unauthorized driver or failing to inspect license. Section 49-334, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $54.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$111.00

 

(11) Expired license. Section 49-319, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $44.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$101.00

 

(12) Violating restricted license. Section 49-317, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $44.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$101.00


(13) Operating vehicle under out of state license while suspended.  Section 49-329, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $100.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$156.50

 

(14) Failure to carry registration in vehicle (dismissed if registration is shown). Section 49-427, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $10.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$67.00

 

(15) Failure to display license plate. Section 49-428, Idaho Code.  (Fixed penalty $10.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).        

 

$67.00

 

(16) Operating vehicle without registration. Section 49-456(1), Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $44.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00,and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$101.00

 

(17) Fictitious display of license plates. Section 49-456(3), Idaho Code, (Fixed penalty $58.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).      

 

$115.00

 

(18) Lending or permitting another to use registration or license plate. Section 49-456(4), Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $58.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$115.00

 

(19) Failing to surrender registration and license plate upon revocation or suspension. Section 49-456(5), Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $44.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00), and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$101.00

 

(20) Use of false or fictitious name in application for registration or concealing material facts. Section 49-456(6), Idaho Code.  (Fixed penalty $100.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$156.50

 

(21) Failure to redeem an abandoned vehicle. Section 49-1802, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $10.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, abandoned vehicle fee $150.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$217.00

 

(22) Texting while driving. (Fixed penalty $25.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$81.50

 

(23) Non-moving traffic infractions. (Fixed penalty $10.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$67.00

 

(24) Special parking infractions. Recreational parking.  Section 67-7115, Idaho Code, and illegal parking in state park, Section 67-4237 Idaho Code, (Fixed penalty $25.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00 -- No peace officers training fee).

 

 

$66.50

 

(25) Disability parking violations. Unauthorized disability parking, Section 49-213, Idaho Code, and unauthorized use of disability plate or placard, Section 49-410, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $100.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00 ñ No peace officers training fee).  

 

$141.50

 

 (26) Other parking infractions and failure to pay parking infractions unless otherwise provided by statute or ordinance.  (Fixed penalty $5.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00 -- No peace officers training fee).  

 

$46.50

 

(27) Operating a motor vehicle without insurance. Sections 49-1229 and 49-1428, Idaho Code and failure to have certificate of insurance, Section 49-1232, Idaho Code, (First offense only, second or subsequent offense is a misdemeanor. (Fixed penalty $75.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$131.50

 

(28) Trucking overweight. Section 49-438, Idaho Code, and Sections 49-1001, 49-1002, 49-1004, 49-1005, Idaho Code.

1-1000 pounds overweight (Fixed penalty $5.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00.)

 

$61.50

 

1001-2000 pounds overweight (Fixed penalty $15.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00,  ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00.)

 

$71.50

 

2001-4000 pounds overweight (Fixed penalty $25.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund $5.00, peace officer's training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00.)

 

$81.50

For multiple infractions see I.C. § 49-1013(4).

 

(29) Fish and game violations made infractions by Section 36-1401, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $15.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$72.00

 

(30) All-terrain vehicle and snowmobile infractions.  Driving on highway. Section 67-7109, Idaho Code (Fixed penalty $100.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$156.50

 

(31) Parks and recreation violations made infractions by Section 67-4223, Idaho Code.  (Fixed penalty $15.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).  

 

$72.00


(32) All other all-terrain vehicle and snowmobile infractions. Sections 67-7102 through 67-7112, 67-7122, 67-7125, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $25.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$81.50

 

(33) Renting a watercraft without safety devices and safety decal.  Section 67-7078 (Fixed penalty $25.00, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$81.50

 

(34) Failure to carry required equipment in watercraft. (IDAPA 26.01.30 Parks and Recreation) Sections 67-7002 and 67-7015, Idaho Code.  (Fixed penalty $42.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).  

 

$99.00

 

(35) Improper waterskiing. Section 67-7024, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $42.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee$10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$99.00

 

(36)  Permitting smoking in public building or office. Section 39-5506, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $67.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officer training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$124.00

 

(37)  Refusing to extinguish tobacco product in public building or office.  Section 39-5507, Idaho Code. (Fixed penalty $17.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officer training fee $15.00,  ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$74.00

 

(38) Other infractions. (Fixed penalty $15.50, court costs $16.50, county justice fund fee $5.00, peace officers training fee $15.00, ISTARS technology fund fee $10.00, and emergency surcharge fee $10.00).

 

$72.00

 

(c) Consolidation of Multiple Offenses in Assessing Court Costs. The court may consolidate multiple non-moving or parking infractions into one offense for the purpose of assessing court costs under I.C §31-3201A(c), together with the fixed penalty portion of the penalty for each infraction.

 

(d) Withheld Judgments or Suspended Penalties Prohibited. No court shall have the power to withhold judgment nor to suspend any part of a judgment for a fixed penalty and costs prescribed under this rule.

 

(e) Deferred Payment Agreement. After the entry of a judgment for an infraction, the court, or the clerk within the guidelines set by the court, may enter into an agreement with the defendant for the deferred payment of the fixed penalty plus court costs. Such agreement shall be signed by the defendant and the court, or the clerk on behalf of the court, and shall state in bold letters that failure of the defendant to make the payments when agreed will result in the suspension of the defendant's driver's license as provided in Rule 10. Subsequent extensions of time to pay a fixed penalty plus court costs may be granted by the execution of a new agreement by the defendant and the court or the clerk.

 

(f) Form of Agreement. A deferred payment agreement under this rule shall be substantially the following form:

Click here for form.

 

(g) Discharge of Judgment. If, after entry of a judgment for the payment of a penalty, court costs or payment of money to any person or entity, the court determines that the unpaid portion of the judgment is not reasonably collectible for any reason, the court may enter an order discharging the judgment and close the file. A discharge of a judgment on a citation may be entered by endorsing the word "discharged" on the face of the citation together with the date and the signature of the court. Such discharge may be signed and entered by the clerk at the direction of the court. The entry of a discharge of judgment shall not affect the judgment other than to satisfy the duty to pay the balance of the penalty, court costs and the payment of money to any person or entity; provided, such discharge does not satisfy the duty of the defendant to pay victim's restitution ordered pursuant to Chapter 53 of Title 19, Idaho Code, nor prevent the victim from enforcing the order by execution pursuant to section 19-5305, Idaho Code.

 

 

[Amended effective July 1, 1995;  July 1, 1996;  July 1, 1997;  January 1, 1999; amended June 7, 2000, effective July 1, 2000; amended June 21, 2000, effective July 1, 2000; amended January30, 2001, effective January 30, 2001; modified April 13, 2001, effective July 1, 2001; amended March 5, 2002, effective July 1, 2002; amended April 19, 2002, effective July 1, 2002; amended June 16, 2003, effective July 1, 2003; amended July 29, 2003,effective immediately; amended April 22, 2004, effective July 1, 2004; amended April 5, 2005, effective July 1, 2005; amended March 21, 2007, effective July 1, 2007; amended, effective February 1, 2009; amended April 2, 2010, effective April 15, 2010; amended April 27, 2011, effective July 1, 2011; amended  April 27, 2012; effective July 1, 2012.)

As the Third Branch of Government, we provide access to justice through the timely, fair, and impartial resolution of cases.

 

Members of the
Idaho Supreme Court



Members of the
Idaho Court of Appeals

 

TERMS OF OFFICE


Promoting Openness In The Courts
Do you have suggestions about how we can better serve you?
CLICK HERE