Main menu(Site Main Menu)

Idaho Cout Administrative Rule 57.  Time Standards For Case Processing.

(a) The following time standards are adopted as guidelines for judges, trial court administrators, lawyers, and litigants to assist them in determining the length of time it should take to conclude a case in the trial courts:

 

CIVIL  
District Court 540 days from complaint
Magistrate Court 180 days from complaint

 

 

 
FELONIES  
Magistrate Division

30 days from first appearance to order holding the defendant to answer in the district court or discharging the defendant

 

District Court

150 days from first appearance in district court

 

 

 

 
MISDEMEANORS 90 days from first appearance

 

 

 
INFRACTIONS 60 days from first appearance

 

 

 

DOMESTIC RELATIONS AND CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT

 

180 days from complaint

 

 

 
JUVENILE  
Juvenile Corrections Act cases

90 days from admit/deny hearing 

Chld Protection Act cases

As provided in the time frames established in the Idaho Juvenile Rules 

 

 

 
SMALL CLAIMS 90 days from complaint

 

(b) In each of the categories of cases in subsection (a), the median length of time taken to resolve all cases should not exceed the time standard prescribed for that category.  Trial judges should strive to resolve each individual case within the applicable time standard unless the trial judge determines that exceptional circumstances exist.

 

(c) No action shall be dismissed for failure to meet these time standards guidelines. 

 

(Adopted August 8, 2008, effective August 8, 2008.)  

 

 

As the Third Branch of Government, we provide access to justice through the timely, fair, and impartial resolution of cases.

 

Members of the
Idaho Supreme Court



Members of the
Idaho Court of Appeals

 

TERMS OF OFFICE


Promoting Openness In The Courts
Do you have suggestions about how we can better serve you?
CLICK HERE